MOTEC-OT is a team of dedicated healthcare professionals that share a common goal of stellar fieldwork and academic-related experiences and performances. Our commitment to life-long learning fosters the improvement and refinement of fieldwork initiatives from academic, clinical, supervisory and student perspectives.

Columbia University

Pam Miller, MA, OTR  phm1@columbia.edu
Phyllis Simon, MS, OTR/L   prm44@cumc.columbia.edu

members_logo2_dominican.gif

Dominican College

Mary Walsh Roche, MS, OTR/L, LMT, RYT   Mary.WalshRoche@dc.edu

Hofstra University

James Battaglia MA, OTR/L, CHT   James.Battaglia@hofstra.edu

Eastwick College

Sara Scott MA, OTR/L   sscott@eastwick.edu
Susanna Shamy MS, OTR/L    sshamy@eastwick.edu
Karen Pedersen MS, OTR/L    kpedersen@eastwick.edu

Kean University

Thais K. Petrocelli, MHA, OTR   tpetroce@kean.edu

divider.gif

LaGuardia Community College

Michele Mills, MA, OTR/L mmills@lagcc.cuny.edu

Long Island University

Dale Coffin, MS, OTR/L   dale.coffin@liu.edu
Mechelle Collins, MS, OTR/L   mechelle.collins@liu.edu

members_logo6_mercy.gif

Mercy College

Sonia Moorehead, OTD, OTR/L - OT Program  smoorehead@mercy.edu
Cristina Dumitrescu, MS, OTR/L - OTA Program  cdumitrescu@mercy.edu

members_logo7_nyit.gif

New York Institute of Technology

Kelly A. Lavin, OTD, OTR/L   klavin02@nyit.edu
Christina Finn, MS, OTR/L   Cfinn02@nyit.edu

New York University

Alison M. Rangel-Padilla, MS, OTR/L   alison.rangel@nyu.edu

Seton Hall University

Alicia MacGregor, MS, OTR alicia.macgregor@shu.edu

SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Jasmin Thomas MS, OTR/L    jasmin.thomas@downstate.edu

members_logo11_sunydownstate.gif

Stony Brook University

Inken Prochilo, MS, OTR/L, Academic Fieldwork Coordinator

inken.prochilo@stonybrook.edu

Dawn Ippolito, MS, OTR/L, Associate Academic Fieldwork Coordinator

dawn.ippolito@stonybrook.edu

 

Touro College

Virginia E. Crippen MSA, OTR/L (Manhattan) - OT Program   virginia.crippen@touro.edu
Tara Collins, MHS, OTR/L (Bay Shore) - OT Program   tara.collins@touro.edu

York College

Elise Henry MS, MPH, OTR/L   ehenry1@york.cuny.edu

 
Raritan Valley.jpg

Rutgers, School of Health Professions Program

Tiffany Benaroya, OTD, OTR/L     tls134@shp.rutgers.edu

 

RARITAN VALLEY COMMUNITY COLLEGE

Kimberly Meany, BS, COTA           Kimberly.Meany@raritanval.edu

 

Pediatric Representatives

otfieldworkbkmsi@schools.nyc.gov

Todd Faude, MS, OTR/L New York City Department of Education

otfieldworkbxq@schools.nyc.gov

Mental Health Representative

Mary Manaker, DipOT, OTR/L   MaryM2@villagecare.com

Physical Disabilities Representatives

Nandita Singh, MPH, OTR/L, NYU Langone Medical Center - Rusk Institute   Nandita.Singh@nyumc.org

Geriatric Representative

Lisa Davis MA, OTR/L, Therapeutic Resources   ldavistr@gmail.com

EXECUTIVE BOARD

CO-CHAIR

KELLY A. LAVIN

OTD, OTR/L

is an Assistant Professor and the Academic Fieldwork Coordinator at the New York Institute of Technology. She teaches the pediatrics and human growth & development courses. Kelly has over fifteen years of clinical experience in early intervention, preschool and school based settings.  She has extensive continuing education in sensory integration.  

Kelly is also an alumna of NYIT and graduated from their occupational therapy program in 2001. She furthered her education and received an OTD degree in occupational therapy from Boston University in 2016. Her capstone project focused on the facilitation of executive functioning skills in emerging adults with autism and she is currently conducting a research project in this area.

CO-CHAIR

VIRGINIA E. KOENIG

OTD, MSA, OTR/L

is the Academic Fieldwork Coordinator and full-time faculty in the OT Program at Touro College in Manhattan, NY. She is a long-term care specialist and has worked in hospitals and skilled nursing facilities for over 15 years. At Touro she teaches Gerontology, a course where she has successfully developed and incorporated a sustainable hands-on intergenerational service learning component for students. She has also developed and implemented a Level II Psychosocial Fieldwork program at the Nassau County Juvenile Detention Center in Old Westbury, NY, where she is also an OT clinical instructor. Additionally, she has developed and implemented a Level I population-based fieldwork opportunity at Big Sandy Health Care, Inc., who services the rural communities in the Appalachian Mountains of Kentucky.

IMG_2065.jpg

treasurer

MECHELLE COLLINS-FARIA

Ms otr/L

started her Occupational Therapy career in 2000, as a Certified Occupational Therapist Assistant, graduating from La Guardia Community College. In 2007 she obtained a BS/ MS Degree in Occupational Therapy from Dominican College. Prof Collins’ area of expertise is in Pediatrics (Birth- 5 years), but has also worked with adults.  Prof Collins is an advisor for LIU student research projects, and has participated in many studies including using the Wii appropriately with preschoolers (3-5). A randomized single-blinded controlled trial and a comparison of Computer-based and Therapeutic Practice Interventions on Improving Visual Motor Abilities of Preschoolers with Autism. Prof Collins-Faria began working at LIU full-time, in the Department of Occupational Therapy as the Academic Fieldwork Coordinator/Assistant Professor in 2014. Prof Collins-Faria currently supervises and manages all of the Occupational Therapy students on Level ll fieldwork clinical affiliations. She is also currently involved in IPE initiatives and the OT service learning trip to Belize.

 

 

secretary & geriatric Rep.

LISA DAVIs

MA, OTR/L

is both secretary and geriatric representative for MOTEC. She has been an Occupational Therapist for over 20 years specializing in geriatrics and owns the staffing agency Therapeutic Resources. She engages OTs, PTs, SLPs and special educators to work with all ages and populations in the New York, New Jersey, and Metropolitan area. 

She also is an adjunct professor at various OT programs and just recently wrote a textbook entitled, “Occupational Therapy: Student to Clinician; Making the Transition” being published by Slack Inc. This book combines her knowledge of what the employer is looking for in a new graduate, and what the challenges are that a student will face when starting their first job as an Occupational Therapist.