MOTEC-OT is a team of dedicated healthcare professionals that share a common goal of stellar fieldwork and academic-related experiences and performances. Our commitment to life-long learning fosters the improvement and refinement of fieldwork initiatives from academic, clinical, supervisory and student perspectives.

Columbia University

Pam Miller, MA, OTR  phm1@columbia.edu
Phyllis Simon, MS, OTR/L   prm44@cumc.columbia.edu

members_logo2_dominican.gif

Dominican College

Mary Walsh Roche, MS, OTR/L, LMT, RYT   Mary.WalshRoche@dc.edu

Hofstra University

Robin Akselrud, OTD, OTR/L   robin.akselrud@hofstra.edu

Eastwick College

Sara Scott MA, OTR/L   sscott@eastwick.edu
Susanna Shamy MS, OTR/L    sshamy@eastwick.edu
Karen Pedersen MS, OTR/L    kpedersen@eastwick.edu

Kean University

divider.gif

LaGuardia Community College

Michele Mills, MA, OTR/L mmills@lagcc.cuny.edu

Long Island University

Efekona Nuwere, OTR/L, ATP   Efekona.Nuwere@liu.edu
Mechelle Collins, MS, OTR/L   mechelle.collins@liu.edu

members_logo6_mercy.gif

Mercy College

Sonia Moorehead, OTD, OTR/L - OT Program  smoorehead@mercy.edu
Sharon Sedlak, OTR/L – OTA program   ssedlak@mercy.edu

members_logo7_nyit.gif

New York Institute of Technology

Kelly A. Lavin, OTD, OTR/L   klavin02@nyit.edu
Christina Finn, MS, OTR/L   Cfinn02@nyit.edu

New York University

Alison M. Rangel-Padilla, MS, OTR/L   alison.rangel@nyu.edu

Seton Hall University

Alicia MacGregor, MS, OTR alicia.macgregor@shu.edu

SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Jasmin Thomas MS, OTR/L    jasmin.thomas@downstate.edu

members_logo11_sunydownstate.gif

Stony Brook University

Inken Prochilo, MS, OTR/L, Academic Fieldwork Coordinator inken.prochilo@stonybrook.edu

Dawn Ippolito, MS, OTR/L, Associate Academic Fieldwork Coordinator dawn.ippolito@stonybrook.edu

Touro College

Virginia E. Koenig, OTD, MSA, OTR/L virginia.koenig@touro.edu
Tara Collins, MHS, OTR/L (Bay Shore) - OT Program tara.collins@touro.edu

York College

Elise Henry MS, MPH, OTR/L   ehenry1@york.cuny.edu

Rutgers, School of Health Professions Program

Tiffany Benaroya, OTD, OTR/L     tls134@shp.rutgers.edu

divider.gif
1206.gif

RARITAN VALLEY COMMUNITY COLLEGE

Kimberly Meany, BS, COTA   Kimberly.Meany@raritanval.edu 

divider.gif

Pediatric Representatives

Jamie Pearson, MS, OTR/L OTFieldworkBKMSI@schools.nyc.gov

Todd Faude, MS, OTR/L New York City Department of Education otfieldworkbxq@schools.nyc.gov

Mental Health Representative

Mary Manaker, DipOT, OTR/L   MaryM2@villagecare.com

Physical Disabilities Representatives

Geriatric Representative

Lisa Davis MA, OTR/L, Therapeutic Resources   ldavistr@gmail.com

EXECUTIVE BOARD

CO-CHAIR

KELLY A. LAVIN

OTD, OTR/L

is the Program Director and the Academic Fieldwork Coordinator at the New York Institute of Technology (NYIT). She teaches Occupational Assessment in Pediatrics and Occupational Therapy Research Design lll.  Kelly is also an alumna of NYIT and graduated from their occupational therapy program in 2001. She furthered her education and received a Master of Occupational Therapy from Boston University in 2008 and a Doctor of Occupational Therapy degree from Boston University in 2016. Dr. Lavin has eighteen years of clinical experience in early intervention, preschool and school-based settings.  

Her research interests include fieldwork education and sensory processing. Dr. Lavin recently published two articles; Use of a journal club during level II fieldwork to facilitate confidence and skills for evidence-based practice. The Open Journal of Occupational Therapy, 6(4), 11. https://doi.org/10.15453/2168-6408.1475 and Building executive functioning to facilitate instrumental activities of daily living for emerging adults with autism spectrum disorder. Journal of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 6(2). https://doi.org/10.15640/jpbs.v6n2a1. She has also presented on the topic of fieldwork education at state, national and international forums.

On a personal note, Kelly enjoys spending time with her husband, five children and 5 grandchildren at their home on Long island, New York. 

Board_collins.jpg

CO-CHAIR

Tara Collins

DHS, OTR/L

is the Academic Fieldwork Coordinator for the Occupational Therapy Program at the Bay Shore campus of Touro College’s School of Health Sciences, a position she has held for 12 years. As an occupational therapist, Dr. Collins has 20 years of pediatric experience across the spectrum of care, including early intervention, in-patient, school-based therapy, and private practice. She has extensive experience working with individuals diagnosed with developmental conditions and sensory dysfunction. 

Dr. Collins’s research interests are in fieldwork education and bullying. She completed her graduate work at the University of Indianapolis, earning a Doctor of Health Science degree in 2016 and an MHS in Occupational Therapy in 2007.  She earned a Bachelor of Science in Occupational Therapy from Keuka College in 1999. Dr. Collins is an active member of the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA). She is also a member of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT) and the Metropolitan Occupational Therapy Education Council (MOTEC), where she has serves as co-chair. She regularly presents at national conferences and recently presented at the WFOT conference in South Africa in 2018.

Her personal interests include travel and competing in triathlons. She lives in Sayville with her son.

Board_COLLINS_FARIA.jpg

treasurer

MECHELLE COLLINS-FARIA

Ms otr/L

started her Occupational Therapy career in 2000, as a Certified Occupational Therapist Assistant, graduating from La Guardia Community College. In 2007 she obtained a BS/ MS Degree in Occupational Therapy from Dominican College. Prof Collins’ area of expertise is in Pediatrics (Birth- 5 years), but has also worked with adults.  Prof Collins is an advisor for LIU student research projects, and has participated in many studies including using the Wii appropriately with preschoolers (3-5). A randomized single-blinded controlled trial and a comparison of Computer-based and Therapeutic Practice Interventions on Improving Visual Motor Abilities of Preschoolers with Autism. Prof Collins-Faria began working at LIU full-time, in the Department of Occupational Therapy as the Academic Fieldwork Coordinator/Assistant Professor in 2014. Prof Collins-Faria currently supervises and manages all of the Occupational Therapy students on Level ll fieldwork clinical affiliations. She is also currently involved in IPE initiatives and the OT service learning trip to Belize.

 

 

secretary & geriatric Rep.

LISA DAVIs

MA, OTR/L

is both secretary and geriatric representative for MOTEC. She has been an Occupational Therapist for over 20 years specializing in geriatrics and owns the staffing agency Therapeutic Resources. She engages OTs, PTs, SLPs and special educators to work with all ages and populations in the New York, New Jersey, and Metropolitan area. 

She also is an adjunct professor at various OT programs and just recently wrote a textbook entitled, “Occupational Therapy: Student to Clinician; Making the Transition” being published by Slack Inc. This book combines her knowledge of what the employer is looking for in a new graduate, and what the challenges are that a student will face when starting their first job as an Occupational Therapist.